This is really the best blog ever.

Fighting Depression #25 – A little good news goes a long way. | May 2, 2017

I’ve had some good news today that I REALLY needed to hear, so I had a nice, strong drink to “celebrate”… so this post is going to be short so I don’t make a fool of myself.

The good news: I finally got approved for unemployment compensation.  This was weighing on me as there were “pending issues” that could “delay or disqualify” me from getting the UC.  (Oh, yeah, here in Florida, it’s called “ReEmployment Assistance” now.)  Even though I knew there shouldn’t have been any reasons for me to not get approved (I was terminated for no doing of my own, I am not otherwise earning an income), it’s VERY stressful to see that in my account every time I checked it.

But, finally, I got the letters of approval on both the termination and remuneration issues.  (The latter was b/c I got severance pay from the shelter when I was fired, but since that’s long been used up and more than enough time has elapsed, that’s been determined not to be a factor.)

So, that’s a MAJOR weight off my shoulders.  I’ll be getting some money on a regular basis, and that means I can now apply for mortgage assistance from the Florida’s Hardest Hit program, as well as food stamps, to help me out.

Today was pretty much a wash; I didn’t get much done, but I’m okay with that.  Tomorrow, back to being productive and pro-active.  Gotta get some job applications done for the week, plus apply for the aforementioned programs.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    The Story So Far

    By Category

