This is really the best blog ever.

Changing my exercise/weight focus – 7 months in. | October 3, 2011

As of today, I’m changing from a weight loss program to a weight maintenance and physique improvement program. Before, my goal was reduction of my weight – I originally had a goal of 200 pounds, got there and went down to 193. As it stands right now, my waist is down to 37″ – I haven’t been smaller than a 38″ in 5 years. I still have a little tightening to do, a little fat to be burned off the waist, but my love handles are NOWHERE near as handle-riffic as before.

I started my weight loss under 7 months ago – mid March. I’ve lost 59 pounds in that time period. This week is messed up, b/c of the strain I did to my neck/back, but I want to get up to 3 or 4 days a week at the gym. I want to start focusing on further improving my muscle tone – I have made great progress already. I have great definition on my shoulders, my biceps are bigger than they’ve been in many years, I lost my man boobs, and I can see the beginning of tone appearing on my belly.

My long term goal is to be in as good shape as I was 20 years ago by time I hit my 43rd birthday, next September. I’m going to start tracking my measurements – chest (currently 38″), waist (37″), biceps (13″), etc. I need to further strengthen my lower back (as evidenced by the recent strain.)

Also, I’m going to start working out at home. I’m likely going to incorporate elements of both the P90X workout with YRG (Yoga for Regular Guys) elements. I’ll be using some personal experience workout training from my days studying karate (I wish I had the money to enroll at a local dojo… but perhaps in time.) Another arena I need to improve is my endurance; I’m no slouch but I want to be better. That means more frequently going to the gym, even if just for time on the exercise bike or elliptical. (Again, more money would be nice – I would love to have an exercise bike at home – could do that while watching my telly/movies at the same time.)

So, that’s the plan as it stands right now.

Posted in Weight Loss

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    The Story So Far

    By Category

    Twitter!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

