This is really the best blog ever.

The Green Lantern movie | August 23, 2011

So, yesterday, on the way back from hanging with Glenn Walker (the mad genius behind French Fry Diary and Welcome To Hell, and just one of the neatest guys I know), I popped in the cheapo theatre at Picture Show Altamonte and caught a $1.25 showing of The Green Lantern starring Ryan Reynolds, Mark Strong, Geoffrey Rush, Michael Clarke-Duncan, Tim Robbins and more.

(Glenn reviewed it back when it first came out, you can read his thoughts here. He gives it higher praise than I do, though I enjoyed it. He, like me, is a comic geek of the olde sk00l crowd.)

Now, a little history. My first superhero was Green Lantern. I remember walking to the corner store with my grandfather in Key West, just a little tyke, to get a fountain soda and a comic book. I remember seeing the Green Lantern and thinking, “Wow”, and I was hooked. Green Lantern was my gateway to the rest of the DC Universe, because I saw that GL was in this team called The Justice League with Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, The Flash and others, and most of them had their own comic books. (And, then a year or so later, I discovered Marvel Comics, but DC has always been my preferred out of the two.)

I’m not going to go into great details, in case you haven’t seen the movie and are still sitting on the fence about it. It’s a good movie. It’s not great. It’s not Thor, it’s not Iron Man, it’s not X-men or X2 or Watchmen or Spider-Man 2 or Mystery Men or The Dark Knight or any of those excellent superhero movies. But neither is it X-Men 3: The Last Piece of Crap or Spider-Man 3: What The Fuck Are We Doing.

Honestly, I think this would have been better served as a tv show. If you want to tell the origin story, show us Hal as a young fighter pilot, coming across the ring in the end of the first episode, and building towards being a proper hero. It’s too hard to cram all that into two hours, plus have the BIG EPIC SPACE MONSTER and the creepy human guy with mad mental powers and more. The movies suffer for it.

I walked into the movie knowing it wasn’t by any stretch a perfect movie – it’s got flaws left and right and I would not advise paying any more than a couple bucks to see it – or wait till it’s on DVD and get it at Blockbuster Express or RedBox or Netflix or whatever. (However, I do have to say, it’s a pretty movie and I’m glad I saw it on the big screen.)

The acting is decent for the most part, Ryan Reynolds does a good enough job, I really enjoyed MCD’s voice acting of Kilowog (one of my most favourite of the Green Lanterns.) Mark Strong’s Sinestro was perfect, Parallax was less than interesting, to be honest (but then I have serious issues with the whole existence of Parallax from the comics and why we have to have a Parallax in the first place, but that’s a topic for comic geek debate, not a movie review.)

Posted in Comic Books, Movies

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    The Story So Far

    By Category

