This is really the best blog ever.

The hawt girl who works at the gym… (and other tales about the gym) | June 11, 2011

…totally made my night tonight. She knew my member #, and rattled it off to me when I went to check in. A week or so ago, she tried to guess it, but was wrong, and this is the first time she’s checked me in (she’s been behind the counter when others have checked me in since then, though.)

Now, there’s probably nothing to it, maybe it’s just a game she plays with herself, trying to remember regular members’ numbers, but I’d like to pretend she only does it with the cute ones.

(I mean, this girl is a total babe, definitely hubba-hubba-licious. And normally, looks only aren’t enough to catch my attention, but she’s just hawt.)

I know some people use the gym as a way to meet people, or to go and try to impress people of the preferred gender or whatever. Not me, I’m there to work out, to get in better shape, and reap the benefits. Over the 3 years I’ve been going (mostly) regularly, I’ve been flirted with a couple times (but I think that was all back when I was involved with Deb, so I just took it for what it was and didn’t remotely consider doing anything about it.)

Now, my insecurities are in full force. Even though I’ve lost weight, I’m still feeling fat and unattractive. So, getting some kind of positive attention from an extremely attractive woman… well, that was just pretty awesome.

Speaking of the gym, I’m doing pretty well in my workouts. I’ve increased the reps on upper and lower body several times since starting the new regimen. I’ve upped my time on the exercise bike from 30 min to 45 min (I generally do my upper or lower body workout, which takes about 30-40 minutes, and then do the exercise bike and get some reading in.) I figure I’ll up it 5 minutes each week until I get it to 60 min, and then start increasing the ‘level’ (resistance) afterwards.

I’m seeing some change in my body – my shoulders have more definition and my arms have more definition and a bit more muscle mass. Bit more definition in my thighs. (Calves not so much, but they were in pretty good shape to begin with.)

The gut… well, sometimes I think it’s smaller, sometimes not. I need to start measuring it (I keep saying I’m going to and just haven’t – mostly b/c I’m flaky and forget, partially b/c I can’t find the tape measure I have just for that.)

2 Comments »

  1. Congrats on all the hard work paying off!!!
    Don’t sell yourself short though, i bet she doesn’t do that with all the members-too much work! Maybe next time say “wow you remember everyone’s member #?!” see what she says? 😉

    Comment by Gail weafer — June 11, 2011 @ 1:18 am

    • Thanks, Gail. 🙂

      Yeah, I kinda thought about saying something along those lines… I’m just horrible at flirting with virtual strangers – give me a chance to connect with someone first, and get comfortable, and I’m very gregarious/playful/even flirty.

      No promises, but we’ll see if I can be brave enough. 😉

      Comment by Terry — June 11, 2011 @ 1:34 am


Leave a Reply

    The Story So Far

    By Category

