This is really the best blog ever.

The DC Reboot – some thoughts | June 1, 2011

So, as any of you geeks probably know by now (and if you’re not a geek, I’m not sure why you’re reading this), DC Comics has announced a reboot – I’m not sure how complete, how incomplete, etc it is.

I’ll admit my first reaction was knee-jerk – I saw that they were going with 50 (though, apparently I understand it’s 52, which I can see why they’re going with that number, a tie-in to the series 52 from a couple years ago, and the 52 Earths that exist in the DC Multiverse) new #1s and was disappointed.

But that was before I actually realised that it was a reboot, and I’m guessing a hard reboot.

The question is – will it be hard enough?

For years, I have been of the opinion that any inter-laced shared world, like DC and Marvel’s superhero worlds, should have a set start and ending. Every 10, maybe 20 years, they end. Completely and utter an end of story-telling from that world. Then, resetting, starting anew. (This would allow them to keep their trademarked characters – a Batman, a Superman, a Spider-Man, so forth and so on.)

There’s talk of making the characters more accessible to newer/younger readers, and making them more modern – I’m confused at that, because I thought that’s what has been going on for the past six plus years?

It’s too early, right now, to list any gripes – we don’t know enough specifics. I’m just leery. We’ve seen many reboots by DC in the past 25 years – Crisis on Infinite Earths, Zero Hour, Infinite Crisis, not to mention many smaller ones dealing with one title/group/character. One hopes that they really do have a Bigger Picture that they’re working with – otherwise it just seems too much a marketing gimmick and not enough of a true reboot.

Posted in Comic Books

2 Comments »

  1. I never did follow DC much, but I have to admit that part of me thinks a total reboot is a pretty cool prospect. Like you. I have questions about where the characters start out -are they beginners all over again, or will they begin as super-experienced badasses? The latter is harder to swallow – no one that powerful gets that way without making some enemies, after all. They could end up doing a lot of backfill that could be tiresome…

    One does assume, or hope, that they know what they’re doing. 🙂

    Comment by Alesia Matson — June 1, 2011 @ 5:50 pm

    • If I were in charge of it, I’d totally have a hard reboot – start things with the crash-landing of a spaceship from the planet Krypton, and a young adult male step out.

      Skip the whole being raised by Earthers and being the Boy Scout, have him LEARN to be human as a result of his time here and his experiences.

      Then, we find out about the shadowy figure in Gotham City who has been preying on the criminals of that city. He’s a little older, been around a handful of years, but working hard at staying an unknown entity… but perhaps the time for him to make his presence known to the world at large has come.

      And so forth and so on.

      But I’d also do things a little different with the titles, too. Instead of starting out with 52 (and it’s an important # in the scheme of the current DC Universe, so maybe eventually, there’d be 52 series), I’d start out with… say, five. Batman, Action Comics (Superman), Justice League, Wonder Woman and Adventure Comics (each issue has two stories on other characters not featured in the other four.)

      Build things up for six months, then introduce a couple more series in December and Jan. By the end of 2012, have 20 regular series – maybe a new series every month of the year. And then by the end of 2013, have your 52 titles.

      that’s just me, though.

      Comment by Terry — June 1, 2011 @ 6:53 pm


Leave a Reply

    The Story So Far

    By Category

