This is really the best blog ever.

Driving after six years | April 21, 2011

(Okay, not quite six years. Five years, eleven months and two weeks.)

So, after a hiatus of (nearly) six years (May 1st, 2005 was the last time I drove until Monday night, April 18th, 2011), I have now become a driver once more. (Yes, yes, stay off the sidewalks.) Why so long, you ask? Reader’s Digest version – Through ignorance and bad decisions, drove on a suspended 3 times in a 5 year period, got hit with the habitual traffic offender, lost my license for 5 years, that expired on Aug 22nd, 2010. Couldn’t afford a car, so didn’t bother getting my license, but after my mom passed away in December, I was going to get her car, so got my license reinstated back in February. Car was over 1300 miles away, but now I have it.

I was damn nervous about driving. It’d been a while. I’d never gone so long without driving since I learned how to drive in high school. But it really wasn’t anything to worry about.

Driving is a social contract. When you get behind that wheel, you’re signing off on the contract, that you promise to be a good enough driver not cross lanes, hit someone, etc. And you sign off on the idea that you accept that everyone else agrees to the same. But it’s a good idea to keep any eye on everyone else. 😉

So, anyhow, I’m driving. It’s a blast, I love it, I’ve missed it. I want to go on a road trip (but don’t have the money right now.. anyone want to fund one for me?)

Posted in Life In General

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    The Story So Far

    By Category

