This is really the best blog ever.

April Fool’s Day | April 1, 2011

I don’t get to do April Fool’s Jokes – I’m the sort of guy everyone expects to do one today, so if I were to try one, it wouldn’t remotely have a chance of going over. And that’s the kind of pranks I like, the ones that are almost real enough to believe.

In high school, I was part of a group (we didn’t have a name, we were just a bunch of friends) who were NOTORIOUS for pranks and shenanigans. I mean, it was all the time. I came back from a several night stay in Tallahassee as part of a field trip for history class/debate club sorta mixed programs, and my friend Pete comes running up to me with a pair of crutches. Seems he told my girlfriend, and a few others, that I’d gotten hurt in an accident while out of town. So, we procured some gauze and athletic tape, and I spent the day hobbling around campus, getting let out of class early enough (and always with someone to carry my books) to make it to the next class, getting sympathy and attention from everyone. (After a couple days, it got old, and my foot got better real fast, and my girlfriend got mad at me.)

Another time, someone decided we should start off the school year with British accents. So three of us, completely unrelated, told everyone we were cousins and went to England for the summer together and that’s why we had accents, from hanging around with everyone over there.

We’d also hack the computer system and put people (usually friends) on the detention list. (This was back in the mid 80s, and not too many people knew about computers, so when the principal’s office computer had a problem, he’d send for me or one of my pals, so we knew all the passwords, so hacking is really kinda exaggerating.) Very rarely were they ever made to do detention, but it was just funny making them sweat it. (I know, it was kinda mean, but it’s still damn funny. And they got me, once, and I laughed once I realizsed that I’d been gotten with my own game.)

And these are just a few examples, so you understand why everyone (who knows me well enough) just expects me to do something on April Fool’s Day. Of course, you could argue by not doing anything and making them sweat it, I’m actually getting them, and I’ll accept what I can get. 😉

Happy April Fool’s, everyone. Have some fun, laugh when someone gets you, and plan to get them back next year. It’s the most foolish day of the year.

Posted in Special Days

2 Comments »

  1. And this is why I play April Fool’s Day Jokes on any other day of the year… it’s like Unbirthdays!

    Comment by Crystal — April 1, 2011 @ 8:03 pm

    • And this is why you are made of awesomesauce!

      Comment by Terry — April 1, 2011 @ 9:13 pm


Leave a Reply

    The Story So Far

    By Category

