This is really the best blog ever.

Getting serious about weight loss | March 28, 2011

I’ve gotten fat. It’s true. I peaked a week or so ago over 250 pounds. Never before have I weighed so much. Prior to this period (I haven’t weighed myself in many months), my record was 230. Fall last year it was 235 and I got upset about that, but kinda fell back into the on-again, off-again depressive funk I’ve been dealing with.

Anyhow, I recently started using Fat Secret to track my food intake and activity levels. I’ve set a plan, more a series of guidelines.

1) Drink more water, less soda. 64 oz a day of water. Soda is going to become a several times a week thing instead of a daily thing. (I never was the biggest soda drinker, but being poor and soda being cheap, well, yeah.) I bought 3 filters for my Brita pitcher, because I really don’t like tap water.

2) I’m moderating my caloric intake. Based on my low-active lifestyle, I have a caloric intake RDI of 2800 – my goal is to keep it under that as much as possible. I’ve only gone over that once, and that was because I had no idea that Chick-Fil-A lemonade had 350 calories per large glass! (And it was a hot day, so I had two – YIKES. From now on, I’m sticking to the Diet Lemonade at CFA – only 30 per large glass.) Anyhow, I’m not going to call it a diet, more a moderation. Cutting back, restricting, not letting myself be an emotional eater, not eating just whatever – everything I eat will be accounted for. So far, averaging 91% of my daily RDI.

3) Walking. I’m gonna start walking pretty much every day. Did 30 minutes yesterday, it’s been raining today, so it didn’t happen, but my goal is as close to daily as I can.

4) Go the gym regularly. I’ve hit a 2/week stride, my goal is 4/week. Twice a week machines, twice a week cardio.

5) Yoga. I’ve got a couple dvds of the YRG (Yoga for Regular Guys) program by Diamond Dallas Page. I’ve heard many good things about it. (Just got to find those dvds…)

Posted in Life In General

4 Comments »

  1. Congratulations, Terry – I hope it works out well for you!

    Comment by Alesia Matson — March 28, 2011 @ 10:50 pm

  2. What do you think of seltzer? The Husband drinks like 2 liters a day because they’re zero calories, tasty flavors and he still gets the carbonation of soda that he likes.

    Hope the new eating habits work out well for you.

    Comment by PurpleAllison — March 29, 2011 @ 4:15 pm

    • I’ll have to look into it. I’ve not had any experience with seltzer, but definitely will give it a shot – I need all the variety I can get.

      Thanks – I need it to work out.

      Comment by Terry — March 29, 2011 @ 7:26 pm


Leave a Reply

    The Story So Far

    By Category

