This is really the best blog ever.

Chick-Fil-A Spicy Chicken sandwich | June 1, 2010

So, Chick-Fil-A has a new item soon to hit the menu, the Spicy Chicken Sandwich.

Right now, you can register for a free one at your local CFA restaurant (assuming all the reservations haven’t been booked yet.) You have to reserve and pick a date (through June 5th) and a 3 hour block to get your sandwich.

Spicy Chicken sandwich with pepperjack cheese

Today, I went down to the CFA in Orange City at approximately 11:30am, which was during the block of time I’d made my reservation for. I got there and got my free sandwich, which I had the choice of getting with a slice of pepperjack cheese.

I never, ever, EVER say ‘no’ to pepperjack cheese.

They had to cook it, so I was told to be seated and the very attractive young lady would bring me my meal. I did as instructed and she found about 3 excuses to come to my table, once to bring my lemonade, once to bring the food and again to see how it was. Stupid me didn’t get her name.

The sandwich was excellent. The breading isn’t quite the same texture as the regular Chick-Fil-A sandwich, it’s a little softer. I’m okay with that, to be honest. The spicy level isn’t bad, but won’t turn off most people, either. It’s not a buffalo-style spicy, more a peppery-paprika spicy, and I dig it.

I also got another complimentary coupon for a free spicy chicken sandwich, with the purchase of a drink, once it goes on the official menu (which I believe is next week.) I give it an A+. Just the right amount of spicy, tastes enough like the regular sandwich to taste like Chick-Fil-A, but different enough to be something special. (I’ll be honest, though I love spicy food, I wasn’t sure I would want my Chick-Fil-A sandwich to be spicy – and I’ll definitely be getting the original sandwich still, but this is a nice change-up.)

Also, in regards to the reservation gimmick, CFA’s been doing that the past year (they did the free spicy chicken sandwich earlier this year, but only at like 5 locations throughout the country. The closest to me was South Florida.) I think it’s a great idea to market new products, create a little interest/buzz. Is there a future of this in restaurant business, using the internet to reserve food in advance? Absolutely. How soon will it happen? Time will tell.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    The Story So Far

    By Category

    Twitter!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

